

EKITI STATE CONSOLIDATION OF UNIVERSITIES LAW

NO. 3 OF 2011





EKITI STATE OF NIGERIA

EKITI STATE OF NIGERIA

Ekiti State Consolidation of Universities Law

Arrangement of Sections

- 1. Consolidation of Universities
- 2. Transfer of Staff and Students
- 3. Merging of Colleges, Faculties, Schools, e.t.c
- 4. Repeal
- 5. Interpretation
- 6. Citation





A LAW TO CONSOLIDATE THE UNIVERSITIES IN EKITI STATE AND OTHER MATTERS CONNECTED THEREWITH

No. 3 of 2011

Ekiti State of Nigeria

Commencement (.....)

ENACTED BY THE EKITI STATE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY AS FOLLOWS:

Consolidation of Universities

1. As from the commencement of this law, the three Universities in Ekiti State: the University of Science and Technology Ifaki-Ekiti, the University of Education Ikere Ekiti and the University of Ado-Ekiti are hereby consolidated into one University to be known as Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti.





Transfer of Staff and Students

- 2. All Academic, Administrative, Technical Staff and Students who were members of:-
- (a) Staff and Students of the University of Science and Technology Ifaki-Ekiti under the University of Science and Technology Law No. 10 2009,
- (b) the University of Education Ikere-Ekiti under the University of Education Ikere-Ekiti Law, No. 11 2007, and
- (c) the University of Ado-Ekiti under the University of Ado-Ekiti Law No. 5 of 2008, or
- (d) otherwise employed by the three Universities under the Laws referred to above;
 - Shall become holders of appointments in Ekiti State University with the statuses, designations and functions which correspond as nearly as may be with those which appertained to them as members of Staff or employee or students under the University of Science and Technology Ifaki Law No. 10 2009, the University of Education, Ikere-Ekiti Law No. 11 2007, and the University of Ado-Ekiti Law No. 5 of 2008.

MERGING OF COLLEGES, FACULTIES, SCHOOLS, E.T.C.

3. Subject to any Regulations which may be made by the Senate of Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti after the commencement of this Law, the Colleges,





Faculties, Faculty Boards and Students of the Universities of Science and Technology, Ifaki Ekiti, the University of Education, Ikere-Ekiti and the University of Ado-Ekiti, immediately before the commencement of this Law shall become part of and merge with Colleges, Schools, Faculties, Faculty Boards and Students of the Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti under this law.

REPEAL

4. The University of Science and Technology Law No. 10 of 2009; the University of Education, Ikere-Ekiti Law No. 11 2007 and the University of Ado-Ekiti Law No. 5 of 2008 are hereby repealed.

INTERPRETATION:

5. In this law unless the context otherwise requires:

"State" means Ekiti State of Nigeria.

CITATION

6. This law may be cited as Ekiti State Consolidation of Universities Law, 2011.





This printed impression has been carefully compared by me with the Bill, which has been passed by the Ekiti State House of Assembly and found by me to be a true copy of the said Bill.

MR. BEN. AKINTUNDE FAMOYEGUN	
Clerk of the House of Assembly	

Rt. Hon. (Dr.) Adewale A. Omirin

Speaker of the House





Governor's Assent

I hereby signify my assent to this Bill

DR. KAYODE FAYEMI

Executive Governor of Ekiti State

MADE AT ADO EKITI THIS 22nd DAY OF June,2011

