GN. R. 2370 GG13536 27 September 1991

FERTILIZERS, FARM FEEDS, AGRICULTURAL REMEDIES AND STOCK REMEDIES ACT, 1947 (ACT No. 36 OF 1947)

PROHIBITION ON THE ACQUISITION AND USE OF CERTAIN AGRICULTURAL REMEDIES IN CERTAIN AREAS

- I, Andre Isak van Niekerk, Minister of Agriculture, acting under section 7bis of the Fertilizers, Farm Feeds, Agricultural Remedies and Stock Remedies Act, 1947 (Act No. 36 of 1947), hereby-
- (1) prohibit the acquisition and use of any agricultural remedy that contains-
- (a) 2,4-D (dimethylamine salt);
- (b) 2,4-DB (sodium salt);
- (c) MCPA (dimethylamine salt);
- (d) dicamba (dimethylamine salt); and
- (e) any other salts or esters of 2,4-D (except APM salt) in the areas defined in the Schedule;
- (2) prohibit the aerial application of any agricultural remedy referred to in paragraph (1) in the Province of Natal;
- (3) prohibit the aerial application of an agricultural remedy containing MCPA (potassium salt), MCPB (sodium salt), any salt or esters of triclopyr as well as any salts of dicamba, in the Province of Natal:
- (4) prohibit the application of any agricultural remedy containing 2,4-D (iso-octyl ester), in the Province of Natal: and
- (5) repeal Government Notice No. R. 1992 of 30 September 1988 as extended by Government Notices Nos. R. 1918 of 1 September 1989 and R. 2291 of 28 September 1990.

A. I. VAN NIEKERK,

Minister of Agriculture.

SCHEDULE

AREAS IN WHICH THE ACQUISITION AND USE OF CERTAIN AGRICULTURAL REMEDIES ARE PROHIBITED

1. All farms situated in the Magisterial District of Camperdown, excluding those farms failing under the jurisdiction of the KwaZulu Legislative Assembly.

- 2. The following farms situated in the Magisterial District of Pietermaritzburg: Brasfort Park 1295, Buckan 14858, Bushy Park 1350, Crookes 12197A, Farms known as 13445, 15137, 14736, Hopewell 881, Leliefontein 1175, Maybole 850, Nels Rust 849, Nooitgedacht 903, Orange 14940, Uitvlugt 858, Umlaaspoort 1174.
- 3. The following farms situated in the Magisterial District of Richmond:
 Amawa 12710, Antiford 3145, A of Antiford 8138, A of Antiford No. 38136, Beaulieu Estate 1412, Berrydene 12875, Brasfort Park 1295, Builer 11869, Clementwells 314, Clifton 7601, Commissie Drift 1109, Curraghmore 13377, Daiston 13456, Delectable Dale 14433, Deep Kloof 12692, Dering 5145, Diepe Kloof 1189, Drie Fontein 845, Dromore 3863, Dromore 2091, Eden 15085, Fairfield 1809, Fairview 13103, Fielden 930, Foxon 15164, Harmony 1472, Hopewell 881, Ismont 3907, Ismont 3908, Ismont 4836, Java Heights 1793, Java Heights 14624, Krysfontein and Weltevreden 826, Lincoln 1868, Lilie Fontein 1053, Little Harmony 1459, Lovo Dale 1271, Mayfield 14635, Meyers Hoek 847, Nels Rust 849, Nooitgedacht 903, Onrust 848, Pulteney 1879, Richmond Commonage 5319, Rosebank 1932, Rosebank 13519, Runnymede 14797, Scaw Fell 8543, Shiol 7290, Skiddaw 8544, Steling 13421, Stertriemfontein 1342, Strehla 1806, Strathfieldsaye 1392, Sunnybrae 14367, Swanswell 1862, Tyrone 2237, Umlaas Poort 1174, B of A of Waterfalls 7281, Remainder of A of Waterfalls 4812, Wingfield 4458, Wingfield 12595, Zuur Rug 1339.